In late 1950 the Bishop of our diocese, the Right Reverend John James Gravatt, asked a small group of families from Christ Church to consider establishing an Episcopal parish in the Augusta Road area of Greenville. The first meeting of this group was on February 3, 1951 and included eight women. Approximately 50 people attended the next meeting. The Church of the Redeemer was chosen as the name of the church. After receiving the sanction of the Bishop, the group began conducting services in the cafeteria of August Circle Elementary School.
A year later, the Diocese of Upper South Carolina accepted the church as a self-supporting parish. The first Holy Eucharist was celebrated in February 1952. By May, ground was broken for the parish hall and a chapel on the present site. At that time it had been more than 40 years since a new Episcopal church was built in Greenville.
From our beginning more than 70 years ago, Church of the Redeemer has grown into a vibrant community of worship, attracting members from across Greenville County. We are an involved supporter of our neighboring community, focusing on the many ways we can spread the love of Jesus to those around us.